Vegetarian GF Lasagna

As long as I can remember, Lasagna has been my favorite main dish.  I don’t think it has anything to do with the fact that a neighbor child used to call me Lasagna because she couldn’t say Sonya.  I have the recipe I’ve been making ever since I could cook.  It just doesn’t seem fair to make it for the boys and I and have Guy watch us eat it.  So I’ve adapted the recipe and I must say it came out tasting pretty close to the original.

I started by soaking about half a bag of Butler Soy Curls per the package directions. — you could use Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) just be sure it was not processed in a plant that also processes wheat.  (My mother-in-law brought me the first packages of Soy Curls from the Adventist Book Center in Oregon, I found them in Denver also at the Adventist Book Center. See their websites for other sources.  I should note some people with Celiac disease also have issues with soy, thankfully Guy does not appear to be one of them.

While the curls were soaking, I chopped up one onion and started sauteing it in about 1 tablespoon of olive oil.

I added 2 cloves of garlic using a garlic press.

Once the soy curls had soaked I ran them through a grinder I picked up at a thrift store several years ago for a couple bucks.  It looks like this picture I got from eBay.  I’ve also used a salad shooter, and now could try a food processor, but this grinder worked beautifully!

Once ground it looked like this.

Add the ground soy to the onion and garlic and continue to saute until the onions are translucent.  Then add a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. (I’ve tried crushed and it isn’t as good.)

One 8 ounce can of tomato sauce.

Next add the following seasonings:

1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon sweet basil
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon marjoram
1 teaspoon onion salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika
4 teaspoons parsley flakes (or 1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley)

(At this point you could also add about 1/3 cup of sliced mushrooms — I don’t anymore because Jesse won’t eat anything that has touched a mushroom)

Now the sauce needs to simmer.  If using noodles that will be precooked, simmer for about 1 hour.  This is the method I prefer, but the gluten-free Lasagna Noodles I’ve found are ready to be baked and are not supposed to be boiled.

When the sauce is nearly finished gather the remaining ingredients —

1 pound lowfat cottage cheese (be sure to read the ingredients some cottage cheese is gluten-free and some isn’t).

8 ounces mozzarella cheese shredded (I’ve always shredded my own, be aware if you buy preshredded cheese, it may have flour added to it to keep it from clumping)

20 ounces gluten-free lasagna noodles (Sadly most gluten-free pasta has half as much as normal pasta in the box and twice the price. I needed two packages.)  If the noodles are not oven ready, cook them according to the package directions.

Spray a 15″ x10″ baking pan with cooking spray and place a layer of noodles in the bottom of the pan.

Spread half the sauce over the noodles.

Spread half the cottage cheese over the noodles and sauce.

Sprinkle half the mozzarella cheese over the top.

Repeat layers once more.  At this point it can be covered with plastic wrap and stored in the refrigerator until ready to bake or it can be baked immediately. 

If you precooked your noodles, place uncovered in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes at 375 degree F.  (This is my preferred method  and I intend to try making my own noodles so I can do it this way.

If the noodles were not precooked, cover with foil and bake in a 375 degree F oven for 1 hour. 

Whichever way the lasagna is baked, allow it to stand for 10 minutes prior to cutting and serving.  This should serve 6 to 8.

Now I’m hungry again. 

Just to make life a little easier, here is the list of ingredients in a consolidated format.

4 ounces Butler Soy Curls
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 onion chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
28 ounces diced tomato
8 ounces tomato sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon basil
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon marjoram
1 teaspoon onion salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika
4 teaspoons parsley flakes
1/3 cup slice mushrooms (optional)
1 pound lowfat cottage cheese
8 ounces mozzarella cheese (part skim milk is fine), shredded
20 ounces gluten-free lasagna noodles (2 boxes you won’t use all of the second box)

Leave a Reply

